NDAA Conference Begins

Armed Services Members Kick Off First Conference Meeting As Conferees Are
Named

WASHINGTON - Rep. Mac Thornberry (R-TX), Chairman of the House Armed Services Committee, made the following statement on the naming of conferees by Speaker Boehner (R-OH) to serve on the formal House-Senate Conference committee to resolve the differences in the FY2016 National Defense Authorization Act:

"I am encouraged by the manner in which we have reached the next step in this process and look forward to working with my counterpart and the other conferees. We owe it to our troops, their families, and the American people to move forward efficiently and thoroughly. America faces more diverse and serious threats now than at any time. We cannot afford to let partisan issues hinder passage of this bill. I hope the President will think long and hard about his threat to veto the NDAA at a time when he is sending troops into harms way."

Members of the House and Senate Armed Services Committees gathered this morning to begin the conference process. At the annual "pass the gavel" meeting, Members were able to raise their initial thoughts and highlight their priorities for the NDAA.

The following Member of the House Armed Services Committee were named to serve on the House-Senate conference committee:

- Rep. Mac Thornberry (R-TX), Chairman of the House Armed Services Committee
- Rep. J. Randy Forbes (R-VA)
- Rep. Jeff Miller (R-FL)
- Rep. Joe Wilson (R-SC)
- Rep. Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ)
- Rep. Rob Bishop (R-UT)
- Rep. Mike Turner (R-OH)
- Rep. John Kline (R-MN)
- Rep. Mike Rogers (R-AL)
- Rep. Bill Shuster (R-PA)
- Rep. Mike Conaway (R-TX)Rep. Doug Lamborn (R-CO)
- Rep. Rob Wittman (R-VA)
- Rep. Duncan Hunter (R-CA)
- Rep. Vicky Hartzler (R-MO)
- Rep. Joe Heck (R-NV)
- Rep. Brad Wenstrup (R-OH)
- Rep. Elise Stefanik (R-NY)
- Rep. Adam Smith (D-WA)

- Rep. Loretta Sanchez (D-CA)
- Rep. Susan Davis (D-CA)
- Rep. James Langevin (D-RI)
- Rep. Rick Larsen (D-WA)
- Rep. Jim Cooper (D-TN)
- Rep. Madeleine Bordallo (D-GU)
- Rep. Joe Courtney (D-CT)
- Rep. Niki Tsongas (D-MA)
- Rep. John Garamendi (D-CA)
- Rep. Hank Johnson (D-GA)
- Rep. Jackie Speier (D-CA)
- Rep. Joaquin Castro (D-TX)
- Rep. Tammy Duckworth (D-IL)